Historic Scotland

Opening times

Open April to September.

 

Overview

Explore the ruined collegiate chapel of St Mary, built next to a medieval parish church.

The chapel was founded in 1371 by Sir John Kennedy of Dunure. In 1382 a college of priests was established here to pray for Sir John, his family and ancestors.

In its day, the kirk was a grand building, and some fine architectural touches can still be seen in its ruinous state.