Trade token, Dundee halfpenny
Dundee half penny trade token, 1797. The obverse depicts a man wearing a long jacket and a ribboned hat, weaving flax at a trestle table. The inscription reads 'FLAX AND HEMP IMPORTED HERE IN 1796. VALUE L160,128 - 3.336 TONS'. The inscription in the field reads 'FLAX HECKLING, W: DES:'
The reverse design shows a grand three-storied building. shown with two elevations visible. The inscription reads 'DUNDEE HALFPENNY, 1797. DUDHOPE CASTLE, FOUND. 1660. CONVERTED INTO BARRACKS'.
Trade tokens were issued by merchants, to provide small change during times of shortages of copper coins. Trade tokens were used in a system similar to bartering, where a token was used as an alternative form of payment for goods, with the agreement that the token could then be exchanged later for goods in the merchants’ shop or warehouse.
This token from Dundee features an unusual inscription, which details the value and quantity of flax and hemp that was imported into Dundee during the year 1796; 3,336 tons, at a value of £160,128 (about £17,000,000 in today’s money).
Trinity House and its remarkable historic collections give amazing insights into Leith’s celebrated maritime past. The present building was the Port of Leith headquarters of the Incorporation of Mariners and Shipmasters for nearly 200 years.
This charity was set up to support the needs of injured and retired seamen and their families. Its origins can be traced back to 1380, when it was granted the right to levy a tax known as prime gilt on goods imported into Leith.
Thomas Brown designed the elegant Georgian building that now stands on the Kirkgate. It was built in 1816 on the site of a former Trinity House and hospital dating from before 1550.
Read more on the history of Trinity House [PDF, 8MB]
Maritime treasure house
The layout and historic furnishings of Trinity House still have many unique features that emphasise its former maritime function.
The War Memorial Window designed by W.J.R. Cook in 1933 honours local merchant sailors who died in the First World War. It was rededicated in 1945 for those killed in the Second World War.
The ground floor has a grand entrance and inner hall, with a unique collection of chairs commissioned by the Incorporation from the Edinburgh cabinetmaker William Trotter. Off the hall is the Master’s Room, a cosy space with a fine collection of paintings showing Leith as a busy commercial port in the 1700s and 1800s.
The highlight of Trinity House is the Convening Room on the upper floor, where the Incorporation held meetings around the long mahogany table. Maritime subjects feature in the ceiling’s ornate plaster friezes, and the table now displays a fascinating variety of objects to do with shipping, navigation and the whaling industry.
On display in the room are:
- navigational instruments
- wartime charts
- whaling harpoons
- rare objects such as narwhal tusks
- ship models – ranging from early whaling ships to modern merchant ships
Hung on the walls are portraits of famous mariners and former Masters of the Incorporation – some by the great Edinburgh artist Sir Henry Raeburn. Vasco da Gama Encountering the Spirit of the Storm, a huge oil painting by the Scottish artist David Scott, is also on display.
The vaults below the building, which date from the 1500s, once housed a school for young mariners.
- Date Made
- dia 28.5mm (dia 1 1/8")
- Metal/BM Processed
- Time Period
- Property Information
- Trinity House
- Object Number
- Access Status