John White Leith trade token
Trade tokens were issued by merchants, to provide small change during times of shortages of copper coins. They were used in a system similar to bartering, where a token was used as an alternative form of payment for goods, with the agreement that the token could then be exchanged later for goods in the merchants’ shop or warehouse.
The front of this token shows a tall three masted ship at port, with tower and flag in background, and a small two-man boat to the right of the ship. The inscription reads 'SUCCESS TO THE PORT OF LEITH. 1796'.
The other side shows Britannia holding a spear and a set of scales, seated upon a shipping crate, with a thistle to the right. The inscription reads 'PAYABLE AT THE HOUSE OF JOHN WHITE KIRKGATE LEITH'. John White was a trader in tea and gin.
Trinity House and its remarkable historic collections give amazing insights into Leith’s celebrated maritime past. The present building was the Port of Leith headquarters of the Incorporation of Mariners and Shipmasters for nearly 200 years.
This charity was set up to support the needs of injured and retired seamen and their families. Its origins can be traced back to 1380, when it was granted the right to levy a tax known as prime gilt on goods imported into Leith.
Thomas Brown designed the elegant Georgian building that now stands on the Kirkgate. It was built in 1816 on the site of a former Trinity House and hospital dating from before 1550.
Read more on the history of Trinity House [PDF, 8MB]
Maritime treasure house
The layout and historic furnishings of Trinity House still have many unique features that emphasise its former maritime function.
The War Memorial Window designed by W.J.R. Cook in 1933 honours local merchant sailors who died in the First World War. It was rededicated in 1945 for those killed in the Second World War.
The ground floor has a grand entrance and inner hall, with a unique collection of chairs commissioned by the Incorporation from the Edinburgh cabinetmaker William Trotter. Off the hall is the Master’s Room, a cosy space with a fine collection of paintings showing Leith as a busy commercial port in the 1700s and 1800s.
The highlight of Trinity House is the Convening Room on the upper floor, where the Incorporation held meetings around the long mahogany table. Maritime subjects feature in the ceiling’s ornate plaster friezes, and the table now displays a fascinating variety of objects to do with shipping, navigation and the whaling industry.
On display in the room are:
- navigational instruments
- wartime charts
- whaling harpoons
- rare objects such as narwhal tusks
- ship models – ranging from early whaling ships to modern merchant ships
Hung on the walls are portraits of famous mariners and former Masters of the Incorporation – some by the great Edinburgh artist Sir Henry Raeburn. Vasco da Gama Encountering the Spirit of the Storm, a huge oil painting by the Scottish artist David Scott, is also on display.
The vaults below the building, which date from the 1500s, once housed a school for young mariners.
- Date Made
- dia 30mm (dia 1 3/16")
- Time Period
- 18th century, Modern
- Property Information
- Trinity House
- Object Number
- Access Status