Visit a Place

Stenness and Barnhouse Walk

Selected dates until Wednesday 25 September 2024

Stones of Stenness Circle and Henge

Join the Rangers for a walk around one of the oldest stone circles and the nearby Neolthic settlement of Barnhouse.

Find out about the close connection of both these sites and their part in the story of Neolithic life in Orkney and beyond.

These walks are dog-friendly. Please keep your dog on a lead throughout.

Image © Claire Smith

Sunday 21 July 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Monday 22 July 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Tuesday 23 July 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 24 July 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Thursday 25 July 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Friday 26 July 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Saturday 27 July 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Sunday 28 July 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Monday 29 July 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Tuesday 30 July 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 31 July 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Thursday 1 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Friday 2 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Saturday 3 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Sunday 4 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Monday 5 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Tuesday 6 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 7 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Thursday 8 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Friday 9 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Saturday 10 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Sunday 11 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Monday 12 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Tuesday 13 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 14 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Thursday 15 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Friday 16 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Saturday 17 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Sunday 18 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Monday 19 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Tuesday 20 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 21 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Thursday 22 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Friday 23 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Saturday 24 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Sunday 25 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Monday 26 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Tuesday 27 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 28 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Thursday 29 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Friday 30 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Saturday 31 August 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Sunday 1 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Monday 2 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Tuesday 3 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 4 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Thursday 5 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Friday 6 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Saturday 7 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Sunday 8 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Monday 9 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Tuesday 10 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 11 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Thursday 12 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Friday 13 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 18 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 25 September 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

  • Car parking is next to the Stones and it is a short walk from there to the Barnhouse settlement
  • The route is fairly flat but can be muddy underfoot
  • Warm and waterproof clothing and sturdy footwear advised
  • There is no shelter or toilets on site