Visit a Place

Masterpiece Loan 2022: Sir Alexander Morison, 1779-1866

Selected dates until Sunday 19 March 2023

Duff House

Hat in hand, as if bidding farewell, Alexander Morison, a pioneer of psychiatric medicine, stands before his estate in Newhaven, just north of Edinburgh. This portrait was painted at the end of Morison's seventeen years as consultant to Bethlem Asylum in Surrey. The artist, Richard Dadd, was one of Morison's patients. He had murdered his father believing him to be the devil. Dadd, hospitalised at Bethlem, did not visit Scotland, but based his image on a sketch by Morison's daughter. The two women are fishwives, and are probably based on photographs taken by Hill and Adamson at Leith.

Image © National Galleries of Scotland. Purchased with assistance from the National Heritage Memorial Fund 1984

Thursday 30 June 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 1 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 2 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 3 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Thursday 7 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 8 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 9 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 10 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Thursday 14 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 15 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 16 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 17 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Thursday 21 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 22 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 23 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 24 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Thursday 28 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 29 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 30 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 31 July 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Thursday 4 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 5 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 6 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 7 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Thursday 11 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 12 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 13 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 14 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Thursday 18 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 19 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 20 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 21 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Thursday 25 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 26 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 27 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 28 August 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Thursday 1 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 2 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 3 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 4 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Thursday 8 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 9 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 10 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 11 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Thursday 15 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 16 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 17 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 18 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Thursday 22 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 23 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 24 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 25 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Thursday 29 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 30 September 2022


Last entry 4.15pm Closed for lunch 1pm to 2pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 1 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 2 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 7 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 8 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 9 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 14 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 15 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 16 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 21 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 22 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 23 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 28 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 29 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 30 October 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 4 November 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 5 November 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 6 November 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 11 November 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 12 November 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 13 November 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 18 November 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 19 November 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 20 November 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 25 November 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 26 November 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 27 November 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 2 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 3 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 4 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 9 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 10 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 11 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 16 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 17 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 18 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 23 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 24 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 25 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 30 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 31 December 2022


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 1 January 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 6 January 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 7 January 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 8 January 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 13 January 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 14 January 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 15 January 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 20 January 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 21 January 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 22 January 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 27 January 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 28 January 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 29 January 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 3 February 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 4 February 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 5 February 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 10 February 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 11 February 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 12 February 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 17 February 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 18 February 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 19 February 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 24 February 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 25 February 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 26 February 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 3 March 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 4 March 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 5 March 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 10 March 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 11 March 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 12 March 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Friday 17 March 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Saturday 18 March 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets

Sunday 19 March 2023


Last entry 3.15pm Closed for lunch 12.15pm to 1pm

Contact

Included in admission price

Buy admission tickets