About Us

1 November 2017

Commemorative Plaque Scheme Nominations Open

We are asking the Scottish public which figures from history they would like to see celebrated with a Commemorative Plaque.

A plaque commemorating Louisa Stevenson and Christian Guthrie Wright.

Nominations are now open for the national Commemorative Plaque Scheme. Now in its sixth year, the scheme has seen diverse figures from Scottish history remembered – from famous inventors like James Watt and John Logie Baird, to artists such as Joan Eardley and prominent sportsmen such golfer as Willie Park Snr.

Famous Scots are nominated by the public using an online form, then celebrated by the installation of a bronze plaque on a building connected with their achievements. The scheme celebrates the link between person and building and emphasises the social and human element of local architecture.

Anyone whose life and achievements have made a significant difference to Scotland and its people will be considered for the scheme and recipients may also include people who have gained international recognition for their impact and accomplishments.

Martin Ross, Development Manager for Historic Environment Scotland said:

“The scheme celebrates significant persons from history by highlighting the link between them and a building connected with their work or life.

This highlights not only a biographical aspect of the person in recognition, but gives insight into social history and to local architecture also.

In previous years we have received applications for some diverse and significant members of Scottish society, as well as a few less-celebrated, but just as important, individuals and groups. Plaques have been made to recognise the contribution of famous writers, explorers, inventors, artists, politicians and drivers of social change. We look forward to this year’s recommendations.”

This year is again an open theme, meaning that nominations will be accepted for any persons whose life and achievements have made a significant difference to Scotland and its people, or those who have gained international recognition for their accomplishments.

The closing date for completed submissions is 31 January 2018. An independent panel will then consider all the nominations and select the successful applicants, which will be announced in Spring 2018.

You can find more information about the scheme and how to submit a nomination via our website.

About Historic Environment Scotland (HES)

Year of History, Heritage and Archaeology 2017

2017 is the Year of History, Heritage and Archaeology (HHA), a year that will celebrate Scotland’s people, our distinct culture and traditions, our historic landscapes, attractions and icons as well as our hidden gems and amazing stories. From World Heritage Sites to ancient monuments, listed buildings to historic battlefields, cultural traditions to our myths, stories and legends, 2017 is the year to explore Scotland’s fascinating past. This is a Scottish Government initiative being led by VisitScotland and a variety of partners.

Get involved on Twitter with #HHA2017

Year of History, Heritage and Archaeology 2017 logo

Follow Historic Environment Scotland

Twitter: @HistEnvScot | @welovehistory 

Facebook: @HistoricEnvScotland @VisitHistoricScotland


For further information, please contact:

Miriam Morris
Historic Environment Scotland Media Office
Direct Line: 0131 668 8603
Mobile: 07763 520 003