Visit a Place

Stenness and Barnhouse Walk

Selected dates until Wednesday 27 March 2024

Stones of Stenness Circle and Henge

Join the Rangers for a walk around one of the oldest stone circles and the nearby Neolthic settlement of Barnhouse.

Find out about the close connection of both these sites and their part in the story of Neolithic life in Orkney and beyond.

These walks are dog-friendly. Please keep your dog on a lead throughout.

Image © Claire Smith

Wednesday 13 December 2023


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 20 December 2023


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 10 January 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 17 January 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 24 January 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 31 January 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 7 February 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 14 February 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 21 February 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 28 February 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 6 March 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 13 March 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 20 March 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

Wednesday 27 March 2024


Meet at the entrance to Stenness at 10am

Tickets

Free and no booking required

Contact

  • Car parking is next to the Stones and it is a short walk from there to the Barnhouse settlement
  • The route is fairly flat but can be muddy underfoot
  • Warm and waterproof clothing and sturdy footwear advised
  • There is no shelter or toilets on site